Special Events

Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award Reception and Dinner

Tuesday, June 5
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Room: Centennial Ballroom, Third Level, Hyatt Regency Denver

Enjoy an elegant evening in the company of your colleagues as we honor the recipient of this year’s Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award, Rebecca S. Finley, Pharm.D., M.S., FASHP.

The most prestigious honor awarded in health-system pharmacy, the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award is presented annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to health-system pharmacy practice.

Coupons for the dinner can be purchased while registering for the meeting (online or on the registration form) or during the meeting at the Ticket Sales counter in the registration area. Coupons must be purchased by 2:00 p.m. on Monday, June 4. The cost is $135 and is nonrefundable.

Seating at the dinner is reserved, and coupons (received when you pick up your badge at the meeting) must be exchanged for a ticket and table selection by 2:00 p.m. on Monday, June 4, at the Ticket Sales counter in the registration area.

Rebecca Finley is the Founding Dean and Professor of the Jefferson School of Pharmacy at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia.

Dr. Finley is an accomplished practitioner and researcher who is noted for her sustained contributions to oncology practice, professional organizations, and academia.

She received her undergraduate and Doctor of Pharmacy degrees from the University of Cincinnati and her Master of Science in Institutional Pharmacy from the University of Maryland. Dr. Finley also completed a residency at the University of Cincinnati Hospitals.

For more than 18 years, she served in a variety of positions at the University of Maryland, including Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the School of Pharmacy and Head of Pharmacy Services, at the University of Maryland Cancer Center. Dr. Finley also served as the Chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Associate Dean at the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy. She was also President of the Meniscus Educational Institute, a for-profit, accredited medical education company.

Dr. Finley is a Past President of ASHP and the Maryland Society of Health System Pharmacists (MSHP), a Past Chair of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS), and was the first chair of the BPS Oncology Pharmacy Specialty Council. She has served on the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research Cancer Pain Guideline expert panel, the American Pain Society Clinical Practice (APS) Guideline Committee and the APS Cancer Pain Guideline Committee.

Dr. Finley is a member of the Board of Trustees and the Executive Committee of the Institute for Safe Medication Practices (ISMP) and has twice served as a Dean Facilitator for the Academic Pharmacy Leadership Program of the American Association of College of Pharmacy.

She has been the recipient of the Pharmacist of the Year and the W. Arthur Purdum Award from MSHP, the Sr. M Gonzales Lecture Award from the Pennsylvania Society of Health-System Pharmacists, the Jonathan Roberts Award from the Delaware Valley Society of Health-System Pharmacists and the Robert J. DeSalvo Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Cincinnati College of Pharmacy.

She has served on several editorial boards, including Annals of Pharmacotherapy and Highlights in Oncology Practice and has given over 300 invited presentations both nationally and internationally. Dr. Finley was also the co-editor of the book entitled “Concepts in Oncology Therapeutics”, a self-instructional text for pharmacists, which was recognized for its excellence in End of Life content by the Last Acts Coalition and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.


Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award Reception and Dinner

Attendees who have favorited this

Please enter your access key

The asset you are trying to access is locked. Please enter your access key to unlock.

Send Email for Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award Reception and Dinner