Special Events

The Inaugural and Awards

Tuesday, June 5
10:15 AM - 11:00 AM
Room: Mile High Ballroom 3, Level 3 (Lower Level)

Welcoming Remarks
ASHP President Paul W. Bush, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCPS, FASHP, Officer and Health System Pharmacy Administration/MS Residency Program Director at Duke University Hospital, Durham, NC

Presentation of the 2018 ASHP Practitioner Recognition Awards
The ASHP Practitioner Recognition Program recognizes excellence in pharmacy practice by granting recognition to and promoting public awareness of pharmacists who have distinguished themselves within ASHP. Members who have achieved FASHP status have successfully demonstrated sustained commitment or contributions to excellence in pharmacy practice for at least 10 years, contributed to the total body of knowledge in the field, demonstrated active involvement and leadership in ASHP, and have been actively involved in and committed to educating practitioners and others.

ASHP Board of Directors Awards Presentation

Honorary Membership
Rita R. Shane, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCSHP, is Chief Pharmacy Officer and Professor of Medicine at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles, and Assistant Dean, Clinical Pharmacy Services, at the University of California-San Francisco School of Pharmacy.

Dr. Shane’s extensive contributions to the scientific literature have been influential in raising the awareness of state and national healthcare decision-makers about the critical role that pharmacists play as patient care providers.

Active in state and national pharmacy groups, Dr. Shane has served on numerous professional committees, including the ASHP Council on Administrative Affairs, the Commission on Goals, and the Women in Pharmacy Leadership Steering Committee. She was Chair of the California Society of Health-System Pharmacists (CSHP) task force that established the CSHP Practitioner Recognition Program, a member of the CSHP Commission on Goals, and currently serves on the California Hospital Association Medication Safety Committee. She represented ASHP on the American Hospital Association Health Professions Committee, the National Quality Forum Patient Safety Advisory Committee, and the Joint Commission Hospital Professional Technical Advisory Committee.

A prolific author and sought-after speaker, Dr. Shane has nearly 100 publications to her credit and has made 200 presentations at local, state, national, and international meetings.

Dr. Shane has been recognized numerous times for her contributions to pharmacy practice and passion for the profession. She is a Fellow of ASHP and CSHP, and she has received the CSHP Pharmacist of the Year Award, the John Webb Lecture Award, the ASHP Distinguished Leadership Award, the ASHP Distinguished Service Award, and the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award. In 2013, she was listed among the “50 Experts Leading the Field of Patient Safety” in Becker’s Hospital Review.

Incoming ASHP President Inaugural Address
Kelly M. Smith, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCCP

Kelly M. Smith is Associate Dean and Professor, University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy. A University of Georgia and UF Health Jacksonville residency program graduate, she began her career as a drug information pharmacist and board-certified pharmacotherapy specialist at the University of Kentucky Hospital, was a long-time PGY1 program director, and developed Kentucky’s statewide residency network. She focuses on projecting the profession’s needs to shape workforce capacity, postgraduate training models, and practice innovations.

Dr. Smith’s ASHP service includes Board of Directors; Chair, Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists; Chair, Commission on Credentialing; Council on Therapeutics; Council on Education and Workforce Development; Pharmacy Technician Accreditation Commission; House of Delegates; PPMI delegate; Task Force on Organizational Structure; Task Force on Science; and AJHP Editorial Board. Others include UHC/Vizient Executive Committee; Chair, ACCP Drug Information PRN and Residency Task Force; and Chair, AACP Deans’ Task Force. She has received awards from ASHP, KSHP, KPhA, ACCP, and AACP.


The Inaugural and Awards

Attendees who have favorited this

Please enter your access key

The asset you are trying to access is locked. Please enter your access key to unlock.

Send Email for The Inaugural and Awards