Medication Safety Collaborative

[103-L05] ISMP Updates 2018

Sunday, June 3
11:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Room: Mile High Ballroom 1, Level 3 (Lower Level)

ACPE Activity #0204-0000-18-103-L05-P /0204-0000-18-103-L05-T
1.50 Contact Hours | Knowledge-based

Learning Objectives:

Cynthia Von Heeringen, Pharm.D., CPPS, FISMP, R.Ph.

Director, Educational Programs II
Bethesda, MD

I will be your ASHP point of contact as you plan your session. Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns. I look forward to working with you.


Send Email for Cynthia Von Heeringen

Christina Michalek, R.Ph., R.Ph., B.S., FASHP

Medication Safety Specialist
Institute for Safe Medication Practices
Horsham, PA

Christina Michalek, BS, RPh, FASHP, is a Medication Safety Specialist at the Institute for Safe Medication Practices. She works collaboratively with health-system leaders and clinical staff participating in proactive and targeted risk assessments, root cause analysis, and failure mode and effects analysis, in order to define and improve medication safety initiatives. Under contract to the Patient Safety Authority, she is a Patient Safety Analyst for the Pennsylvania Patient Safety Reporting System, a statewide adverse event and near miss reporting system, and she serves as an Analytic Contractor to ECRI Institute's Patient Safety Organization. Christina has more than 20 years of acute care hospital pharmacy experience involving clinical practice, management, and leadership. She served as Director of Pharmacy at Lehigh Valley Health Network and as Director of Pharmacy at Doylestown Hospital. During this time she also served as a Consultant with the Institute for Safe Medication Practices. Chris has volunteered on several professional and advisory boards and regularly provides education at the national, local, and state level. She is a residency-trained graduate of the University of the Sciences’ Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and a Fellow of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. She is a member of the ASHP Small and Rural Hospital Section Advisory Group and serves on the Meeting Education Planning Committee for the Pennsylvania Society of Health-System Pharmacists.


Send Email for Christina Michalek

Michael R. Cohen, R.Ph., B.S., FASHP, Sc.D. (Hon.), DPS (Hon.), M.S., R.Ph., FASHP

Institute for Safe Medication Practices
Horsham, PA

Michael R. Cohen, RPh, MS, ScD (hon.), DPS (hon.) is president of The Institute for Safe Medication Practices, a non-profit healthcare organization that specializes in understanding the causes of medication errors and providing error-reduction strategies to the healthcare community, policy makers, and the public. He is editor of the textbook, Medication Errors and serves as co-editor of the ISMP Medication Safety Alert! publications that reach over 2 million health professionals and consumers in the US, as well as regulatory authorities and others in over 30 foreign countries. He currently serves as a consultant to FDA and has served terms on the Drug Safety and Risk Management and Nonprescription Drug Advisory Committees. The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum awarded Dr. Cohen the prestigious John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award in recognition of his life-long professional commitment to promoting safe medication use and a safe medication delivery system. He became a MacArthur Fellow in 2005. In 2014 he was made an honorary member of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).


Send Email for Michael Cohen

Kelly Besco, Sc.D. (Hon.), DPS (Hon.), M.S., R.Ph., FASHP, Pharm.D., CPPS, FISMP

Medication Safety Officer
Dublin, OH

Kelly Besco, PharmD, FISMP, CPPS is the Medication Safety Officer for OhioHealth Pharmacy Services. In her current role, Kelly oversees performance improvement and medication safety initiatives for the Pharmacy service line. She also serves on the Institute for Safe Medication Practice’s (ISMP) Clinical Advisory Board, the Medication Safety Officers Society (MSOS) Advisory Board and is a Member of FDA’s Drug Safety and Risk Management Advisory Committee.

Kelly earned her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from Ohio Northern University. She completed an ASHP accredited residency in Pharmacy Practice at Riverside Methodist Hospital and ISMP’s Safe Medication Management Fellowship.

Kelly facilitated the development of OhioHealth’s collaborative model for drug shortage management. This model was recognized as a best practice by ISMP with a 2011 Cheers Award for setting a standard of excellence for others to follow in the prevention of medication errors and adverse drug events. She is also a two time recipient of the Ohio Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ (OSHP) Medication Safety Award.


Send Email for Kelly Besco


[103-L05] ISMP Updates 2018


MP3 Audio

Presentation Slides






Attendees who have favorited this

Please enter your access key

The asset you are trying to access is locked. Please enter your access key to unlock.

Send Email for ISMP Updates 2018